< Back to Portraiture Prize Winners

Lester Group Prize



Artist: Nigel Hewitt

Subject: Richard Woldendorp

Title: Transience - A Portrait of Richard Woldendorp




Judges Comment:

This year's winner has produced an outstanding portrait showing talent and insight. The artist has captured age with honesty and skill, while also portraying the sitter's main interest. Glasses can be difficult to paint but in this work the artist has linked them to the landscape behind the sitter, so that foreground and background are connected. This connection brings the composition together as a unified whole.

Carl Altmann, Ray Bian, Helen Carroll-Farihall

Perrine People's Choice




Artist: Jacquie Blight

Subject: Valerie & Brian Sprigg

Title: Love Me Tender